How to drop weight from a light roadbike

Once you had a light bike it’s hard to have a heavier. Always hard to go cheaper or not as good. My Caad10 at 5,74kg was really light but not perfect in every way. Tufo tires isn’t good compared to high end FMB or Vittoria Corsa SC, Aligator Mini I-Link wirehousing is squeeking and sometimes a nightmare, alu cassette doesn’t gear as good as a Dura-Ace.

But 5,74kg is a lot less than 6,68kg. My Specialized Allez is pretty light compared to many other bikes but compared to my Caad10 it’s heavy. Being aware of how things should work and how things shouldn’t be is good in many ways. I won’t buy a bike with BB90 again or too light things.

Sitting and thinking about wheels. On my Allez I now have a set with low alu Ambrosio Crono F20 rims with Dt Comp spokes and Tune Mig/Mag hubs. 1410g with heavy but springready Vittoria Pavé 27mm tires on. They aren’t fast, not so light but strong, comfortable and great for bad roads.

Knowing I can’t afford a pair of AX-Lightness wheels I’m looking for something a bit cheaper but good and light. Like Corima Viva:

32mm rims that both are available as complete 1190g wheels like this or just rims. Building them with a pair of new Tune Mig 70/Mag 170 hubs with Sapim CX Super spokes would result in a wheelset around 1000g. Adding a pair of 22mm FMB Competition CX tires at around 220g/each on that and I will save a lot of weight, over 500g. Or just a set of 1151g Tune Schwarzbrenner 38t:

Or you got a great alternative on good, light and not too expensive wheels for me?

Kommentera

