Långa Billingeracet

Thought about blogging yesterday but didn’t have anything to say really. But today I have. Went down to Skövde yesterday with the best team (SCS Racingteam) to race the first race in the Swedish XCM cup today. Långa Billingeracet is my favourite I think as it’s 3 nice climbs up the mountain Billingen, it has some technical singletrack and a lot of flowy trails. A great mix of terrain that makes you just wish to lay down and die in the last climb.

I had some goals today, maybe didn’t mention everyone before but in my mind I always have goals. Have a hard time fight and ride hard when sometimes being alone if I don’t have goals. So today:

Biggest and hardest goal was a Personal Record in time: Time to beat 3h48min.

2nd was to beat an old friend Fredrik Winberg.

3rd was to beat the two fast girls I was travelling with, Jessica and Carolin.

4th was to beat a good customer Johan R who beat me at Lidingöloppet.

Fredrik was like usual before not as good as I am so it was easy. Johan R passed me in the first climb but I had a good pace. Went hard the first 10km and when I was alone on a long gravel section another old friend named Johan G caught me. We rode together for a while and even had time for a chat about where he lived now and so on. (like Billingeracet extra because you meet so many nice friends) He dropped me in the forest a bit later. But then another guy caught me and did a huge job letting me sit on his wheel. Daniel who was raceleader at the National XCO last year and a guy that dropped me many times training with my old club Jönköpings CK. The sad thing was that he flew over his bars in a downhill section and then I was alone again.

Found a good group to ride with and rode together more or less for around 20km which was really good. Including Johan G who lost the group in the end. I passed people and I had learnt that I had to find people and groups to ride with so did some efforts joining people to get the speed up and the effort down. Tried to ride smart, and as fast as I could.

After like 50km my legs started to feel bad, started to think I would get cramps but I held it in schack and rode as fast as I could but not too fast. Enjoyed the trails except the ones with a lot of mud. Felt happy about the sunny weather and that my bike worked perfect.

In the second last climb trying to get one specific wheel I passed a guy that always win over me at Keps Cup earlier this year and it gave me a boost. A boost which I really needed in the last climb called Strupen. It is steap and I never thought I would manage to ride up. But I know how it is to ride on the lowest gear and the feeling of almost not going forward after living in Bergen so I never gave up. I even missed to gear to my lowest gear so rode 34-36 up the climb and seeing the end was maybe the best feeling this year😀

But failed with the time, 3h51min today but the course is a bit longer than when I rode at 3h48min (2007) and more mud today. Was satisified and it can be a really great cycling year this year😀

And finish and meeting this guy was awesome deluxe. Axel Lindh from SCS Racing Team won!!! today and he was absolutely worth it. So happy for him:

axel

Men elite:

1. Axel Lindh – SCS Racingteam

2. Mikael Flockhart – CK Norrtälje/Pedalogerna.com

3. Lars Bleckur – Cykloteket Racing Team

Women elite:

1. Emmy Thelberg – Härnösands CK

2. Ivanda Eiduka – Kvänums IF

3. Sandra Backman – Team Rudy Project – Suunto/CKX

4. Cecilia Thomasson – Östersunds CK

5. Jessica Clarén – SCS Racingteam

6. Carolin Holmqvist – SCS Racingteam

Me, I got 37 in Men 30+, would have ended 36th if I had ridden in men elite.

Map and stats: Movescount and all results: Billingeracet 2015

And last but not smallest. My biggest thanks to the guy helping everyone with driving, collection clothes, feeding and so on. Jaime Palou is the man!!!

running for Axel:

the car of the weekend:

One thought on “Långa Billingeracet

Kommentera

