Tour de Ötzi (or I’m stupid)

I didn’t ride Vintervättern but I did this shorter version. Tour de Ötzi is a Brevet race around Mälaren (the short 198km loop) in wintertime.

I got out of bed 5.50 and sat on my bike 6.45 this morning. Rode to Barkarby and signed in. Around 30 riders to start which seems to be the record wintertime.

DSC_0195

It felt too fast in the beginning, it felt like I should hit the wall just before Södertälje but the stop saved me. Probably didn’t look so good as both Martin and Hagen asked who I was. Thought about turning around but as on Lida Loop last year I continued. Was good first from Södertälje but after Nykvarn it started to feel to fast, a long day. Dropped the first group and as some others dropped a little earlier I thought they would catch me.

Wasn’t sure about the road in Mariefred so a guy caught me and we rode together for some minutes before he rode too slow I thought. Came to the next stop in Strängnäs when the first group left. All alone and left alone. After that I didn’t saw any rider at all and it felt like the straights were climbs, my tires/wheels felt slow and I felt weak. Kept my pace with the thought that if the legs were spinning I would reach the finish.

Ate a hamburger in Bålsta and then it started to feel a little bit better. When seeing the sign Barkarby it felt good.

Finished after 9h15min, 198km which around 130km alone. Felt like waste. Sat there with the first group and a guy that just came in ahead of me. The first group came in 35min before so not so bad of me.

After riding totally wrong twice when trying to get home I played safe and rode on known roads to get home sometime.

10h20min in the saddle which is an all time record with 246km so my 2nd longest ride. Magic.

No neon reflex vest today as I wont be a randonneur:

DSC_0195start

Looked like this today, Café du Cycliste bibs and awesome winter bibs, old wool socks with Specialized Defroster shoes, Icebreaker wool underjersey with Specialized Therminal jersey and a Specialized Racing vest, Café du Cycliste scarf (style you know), and Öster Cykel buff under my Specialized Evade helmet and Oakley Radarlock glasses, Hestra lobster gloves worked good too:

DSC_0196

Map and stats of my idiotic ride: Strava

And of course my Diverge worked perfect, fast ride today so never used the small chainring😉

Now it’s time to rest as all of my body feels like waste and I am the one who have ridden most kilometers this month in Sweden on Strava😀

strava

Kommentera

