let light be light again

How light is a light bike? Last year I built a Specialized Camber Elite Carbon just under 10kg:

dsc_0402

It was light as an S-Works Epic WC without bottle cage and pedals. But is 10kg light? I’ve been racing Grenserittet (my best time) on a bike that was 6,9kg. And I still got memories from racing with that bike with damping fork, my Merida:

20100821417

Around 7,5kg all season with a bit different parts on. single chainring and tubular wheels (had 2 pair). That was light.

Now I’ve learnt that 26″ isn’t fast and that 580mm handlebar isn’t good. The development goes forward but has it to be so heavy? I want new school geometry, wide bars, single chainring and right sized cassette with 50+ tires that are good. I’m on full planning to build maybe the smartest built bike I’ve ever built and it will be raced on for 2017😀

What do you have for mtb race plans for 2017?

2 thoughts on “let light be light again

  1. Sweet! Alltid kul med lätt och att rejsa är ju givet! Jag och frun funderar på XCO-liknande tävlingar nästa år. Vi tänkte nog starta med Keps Cup och se vart det bär hän.

Kommentera

