Cutting the forest with a scalpel

16810897_10154495752847017_813688655_o

If I could choose one mtb type I would always choose a XC bike. The smile comes easiest with an agile and light XC bike so when I got the opportunity to borrow a friends Cannondale Scalpel-Si Race it was like a child on Christmas. The Epic ride from the Netherlands was still in my mind 🙂

dsc_0564

100mm suspension front and rear, 69,5° head angle, 1×11 Shimano XTR and light stiff Enve wheels.

2nd ride today and felt more like home, and got to ride with these lovely people:

dsc_0584

Pure magic and a really fun time. Fredrichs S-Works Stumpjumper FSR may have better damping and it may be easier to go downhill with a Command Post but it’s more fun when you can stand up and the bike fly, wanting you to go faster. When it’s a bit easier trails you feel unbeatable.

16810350_10154962089640891_915046001_o

Just missing some technic but it’s getting better and better. And maybe some wattage like this guy:

dsc_0585

The bad thing with the bike was that going too fast and follow to good guys with thin tires is that you puncture easier. Punctured rear once first and then in the end once again as I used too little air 😦 Now I know why people using thicker casings like Specialized Grid when riding in Hellas :p

A thing with the Scalpel-Si that all started with Cannondale’s F-Si is their Built for XXC geometry. Shorter chainstays, Assymetric chainstays, Slacker head angle and a bit longer reach. Building XC bike more AM but still XC and not more suspension. I can say it works! Going down steep things, riding fast on technical trails is feeling so much safer but they are still super agile and fast when it’s tight and the suspension is just helping you go faster 🙂 The thinking of geometry Specialized also did with the new Epic HT which I’m building, one of the reasons I choose that bike. Like that kind of development much more than I like more gears. dropper posts and more suspension 😉

Did I mention the weather was awesome?

dsc_0581

Map and stats: Strava

Wish I could try this bike a bit more. And now looking even more forward to finish my Epic 😀

Kommentera

