CX World Championship Men Elite

Today I went to a friend together with a lot of cyclocrossfans and watched the Men elite World Championship. Great atmosphere but not so great race. Was a crash in the beginning. Mathieu Van der Poel attacked in the beginning and then everyone raced around 8 laps. Mathieu Van der Poel won. After it was a sprint with Wout Van Aert and Lars Van Der Haar. Van Aert came second, Van Der Haar 3rd.

The women elite was much more exciting.

So no pictures from the race but got a picture on the bike that was supposed to win. Zdenek Stybars Specialized Crux. Pink, Shimano Dura-Ace Di2 and FSA components like they are sponsored with this year. And Roval Rapide CLX40 wheels:


One thing is a bit strange. When Stybar raced for Telenet-Fidea he used a FSA Plasma handlebar, the same when he started in Omega Pharma-Quick Step on his Eddy Merckx. But now a regular stem and handlebar.

Preview: bPost Bank Trofee Ronse

Today is the big happening. Sanne van Paassen started CX a week ago and today the other big champ starts. Zdenek Stybar is racing CX instead of riding in poor conditions in China 😀

Here is a course preview by In the Mud:

Women elite starts 13.45

Men elite starts 15.00

#1 Superprestige in Gieten, First 2 days of CX in Sweden

The year of The Netherlands?

In the womens race it was three riders in the top all the time. Sanne Cant, Ellen van Loy and Sophie de Boer. Behind Elle Anderson (nice to see her race in Europe) and Sanne van Paassen in the end.

Sanne van Paassen back CX racing after a long time off after being injured (using a Specialized Evade to gain extra speed?):


In the end it got like this:

1. Sanne Cant – BKCP

2. Ellen van Loy – Telenet-Fidea

3. Sophie de Boer – Parkhotel Valkenburg

4. Sanne van Paassen – Boels-Dolmans

5. Elle Anderson – Parkhotel Valkenburg

And then the men’s race, with the brothers Van der Poel and Niels Albert on the side instead of winning like last year.

Mathieu van der Poel started superfast but dropped a bit after a lap. Instead it was Lars van der Haar and Kevin Pauwels in the front, that got some extra time after Tom Meussen crashed. Kevin Pauwels faded and it seemed like a clear victory for van der Haar. But Mathieu van der Poel found som power and chased back up, attacked on last lap and got some room and won. Impressive! Sven Nys rode safe and strong and ended 3rd.


1. Mathieu van der Poel – BKCP-PowerPlus

2. Lars van der Haar – Giant Development Team

3. Sven Nys – Crelan

4. David van der Poel – BKCP-PowerPlus

More info about it here: Superprestige Gieten

And in Sweden it has been racing in Stockholm at the first 2 races in the Swedish CX Cup. Same winners both days with Ida Jansson in the womens race and Calle Friberg in the mens race.