S-works as it’s easy

You know people that buy a complete bike, adding pedals and bottle cages and then just ride it as it is?

I want to be like that but have my thought about different things and always ending up with changing a lot of parts. Like this week when I borrowed a Specialized S-Works Stumpjumper FSR 29 2017 and started to complain on the heavy Grid tires so even before I mounted pedals I changed to Control tires to get it a bit lighter😉

Today I met up with Fredrich who has the same bikemodel but in size Large and he changed the bar, stem and tires so far😉

dsc_1671

We rode together with Alexander and Kangas this morning. Those can ride and I had a really hard time trying to keep up. So happy for the Öhlins dampers keeping me on track when I couldn’t and the bike got better the more I tried to push it😀

 

Behind this thoughts is my roadbike. This year I was riding Sram Force1 that worked fine in Sweden with a regular Force22 rear derailleur. But had too much problem when I mounted my Force1 rear derailleur and never got it to work smooth. Wanted to have a 11-36 cassette when I went to France but it didn’t work and I had to go with 11-32. Same on Rapha 12Hills. Found it hopeless and planned to change back to 2×11 for 2017.

Dreaming of a Campagnolo Record group with hydraulic brakes but it seems to be far away and would be expensive. 2nd thought was Rotor Uno. Hydraulic brakes and gears which seemed really cool and would be released now in January. But would be really expensive that too…

3rd thought is to keep it simple, focus on the riding and to change chain in time. Rode 7000km on my Force1 group without doing anything with the brakes except adjust them when I changed wheels. Flawless and the brakes felt like a dream with super modulation. Now every road disc brakes got Direct Mount which my Tarmac doesn’t have. Found a couple of old Sram Red22 hydraulic shifters at work and stopped thinking.

dsc_1672

I will change the red color on them but that’s it. Fit and forget. My tarmac is the bike I’ve ridden the most in my life and it got a special place in my heart. Thought about selling it and change to something new but can’t of any better bike in the longterm so unless I get a super offer I will keep it. Really fun bike that keeps the roadriding enjoyable.

One thought on “S-works as it’s easy

  1. On road bike with disc brakes , the new standard is called flat mount not direct mount which is for rim brakes😉
    The new tarmac is not for the 2017 catalog as you may have seen , so you will have to wait for thru axles and flat mount

Kommentera

